The Tennessee Department of Revenue does not administer any of the laws or regulations on hemp growers. The Tennessee Department of Agriculture is the state agency that regulates hemp. You can find information about when it is legal to grow hemp on their website at https://www.tn.gov/agriculture/farms/hemp-industry.html.
Can I grow hemp in Tennessee?
- I grow hemp in Tennessee. I then take the hemp and produce creams, oils, and other products from the hemp. Are these products subject to state tax?
- What are the tax implications of growing hemp in Tennessee?
- Is a chainsaw considered farm or logging equipment?
- I sold $2,000 worth of pumpkins. $1,200 was from pumpkins I produced. $800 was sales of pumpkins that I bought from Farmer Jones next door. Some were sold alone and others during the agritourism activities. Am I liable for sales tax?
- Can I verify a Tennessee resale or other exemption certificate?