Special Investigations Unit
Public Chapter 294 clarifies the law enforcement powers of the Department’s Special Investigations unit as it relates to motor vehicle title, registration, and anti-theft provisions in the law.
Effective: April 24, 2015
Grace Period for Vehicle Registration
Public Chapter 294 grants new Tennessee residents a 30-day grace period in which to meet motor vehicle registration requirements.
Effective: April 24, 2015
Public Chapter 294 changes the fee for the notation of a lien from $5.50 to $11.00. This will cover the cost of both noting the lien and subsequently discharging it.
Effective: July 1, 2015
Special License Plates Omnibus Bill
Public Chapter 383 authorizes the following new special license plates (subject to minimum order requirements):
- 2014 College World Series Champions - Vanderbilt University
- Alzheimer’s Association
- Combat Action Badge
- Combat Infantry Badge
- Combat Medical Badge
- Cystic Fibrosis Awareness
- Donate Life
- Friends of Sycamore Shoals Historic Area, Inc.
- Germantown Charity Horseshow
- Historic Collierville
- Make-A-Wish Foundation
- Multiple Sclerosis Foundation Inc.
- Music City Inc. Foundation
- Rotary International
- Scenic and Historic Gallatin
- Soulsville, U.S.A.
- Supporters of the Blind and Visually Impaired
- Tennessee Association of Realtors (Motorcycle)
- Vanderbilt University Athletic Department
- Wingz of Love
The public chapter also extends the time for meeting the minimum order requirement to July 1, 2016, for the following plates:
- Native American Indian Association
- Niswonger Children’s Hospital
- Tennessee Tech University
Effective: May 8, 2015
James Lee Atwood Jr. Law – Uninsured Motorists
Public Chapter 511 requires the Department to develop and implement an online electronic motor vehicle insurance verification program. The program must be installed and fully operational by January 1, 2017. The public chapter authorizes a system by which uninsured motorists will be fined or penalized for driving uninsured.
Effective: Fully functional online verification program effective January 1, 2017
Regulation of Motor Vehicle Dismantlers and Recyclers
Public Chapter 466 requires motor vehicle dismantlers and scrap metal processors purchasing motor vehicles for parts, dismantling, or scrap to obtain proof of ownership from the seller in the form a properly endorsed vehicle title. The bill requires the Department to create a process in which the dismantler or processor may verify the information provided by the seller. The bill also requires the dismantler or processor to pay a biennial fee of $500 to the Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission beginning July 1, 2015, until June 30, 2017.
Effective: Fee provision effective July 1, 2015; all other provisions effective July 1, 2016.